Chakras & the Holy Cities

The concept of chakras features in tantric and yogic traditions of Hinduism and Buddhism. Chakras are energy points in your subtle body through which your life force moves.

Of all the chakras, 7 of them are considered the most important - Sahasrara the Crown chakra, Ajna the Brow chakra, Vishuddha the Throat chakra, Anahata the Heart chakra, Manipura the Solar Plexus chakra, Swadhisthana the Sacral chakra and Mooladhar the Root chakra.

Different belief systems and traditions have varied interpretations of the chakras with corresponding colours, senses, deities and relationship with the endocrine glands.
Blocked energy or imbalance in the chakras can result in illness, anxiety, depression or discomfort. There are many ways to bring about balance, release blocked energy and heal your mind and soul.

In India, the seven holy cities called Saptapuri are believed to correspond to the seven energy centres or chakras in our body. These cities are Ayodhya, Dwarka, Haridwar, Ujjain, Kanchipuram, Mathura and Varanasi.

So whether you are looking for a spiritual balance in one or more of your chakras; to get rid of negative energy; heal from a physical, emotional, mental or spiritual trauma; or simply revitalise your vital energy forces; a journey to the sacred cities is definitely recommended.


Published by Halldór Pálmi Bjarkason on 13. janúar 2018